Networks

Today, the field of professional, continuing, online education is characterized by engagement in very complex, highly specialized areas of practice. UPCEA’s six Networks are designed to serve professionals practicing in the key areas that define this vibrant and growing sector of higher education.


Networks are open to any UPCEA Member. Members can join any one (or multiple) of these networks by logging in to their profile, going down to My Committees then click "Browse Committees". Select the network you would like to join, and click "Join this Committee".


See below for a listing of Network descriptions and volunteer leadership teams. 

2018-2019

Business & Operations

The mission of the Business and Operations Network is to share best practices and emerging trends related to the business and operations as well the strategic imperatives of professional, continuing, and online (PCO) units at post-secondary institutions. We do this through the exchange of intellectual resources and expertise specific to work focused on the financial, human, operational, and IT resources required to support units that are entrepreneurial in nature.

The network represents business and operations professionals that work with externally focused professional, continuing and online (PCO) divisions and units at post-secondary institutions. It emphasizes the role business and finance professionals play in the advancement of initiatives that extend the reach of postsecondary institutions in their communities and beyond. The business, finance, human resources, operations, and IT needs of PCO units often differ from those same efforts in other colleges and departments. These efforts require knowledge of budget models, employment regulations, and IT infrastructure unique to PCO units which involves environmental analysis (both internal and external), identifying industry trends, analyzing the macro environment as well as international and political climates. This differs from both our peers in academic colleges and departments as well as those colleagues in centralized institutional offices (institutional registrar, bursar/cashier, IT, etc.).

Patrice Miles

CHAIR

Georgia Institute of Technology
patrice.miles@pe.gatech.edu

Nicole Westrick

CHAIR ELECT

Temple University
nmwestrick@temple.edu

Edward Howard

PAST CHAIR

Virginia Commonwealth University
eahoward@vcu.edu

Lindsey Hamlin

VICE CHAIR, AWARDS & RECOGNITION

South Dakota State University
lindsey.hamlin@sdstate.edu

Randy Jones

VICE CHAIR, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION

North Carolina State University
randy_jones@ncsu.edu

Randy Jones

VICE CHAIR, NON-CREDIT

North Carolina State University
crjones@ncsu.edu

Karen Ferguson

VICE CHAIR, PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

Colorado State University-Global
karen.ferguson@csuglobal.edu

Michael Jones

VICE CHAIR, ANNUAL CONFERENCE AND SPECIAL EVENTS

University of Connecticut
mljones@uconn.edu

 

Teri Fuller

VICE CHAIR, AT-LARGE

University of Denver
teri.fuller@du.edu

Dan Webster

VICE CHAIR, AT-LARGE

University of Toronto
daniel.webster@utoronto.ca

2018-2019

Community and Economic Engagement

The Community and Economic Engagement Network's (CEE) core mission is to support network members in promoting new and innovative, internal, and external collaborations to help advance local and regional communities and economies and extend the reach of campus communities.

The network represents university outreach and engagement, inclusive of community, economic, and workforce development. It focuses on the role that universities can play in the advancement of initiatives that positively impact the quality of life in our communities and economies at the national, regional, and local levels, recognizing that some elements of this work often begins in the pre-K - 12 environment and continues through post-workforce years. CEE supports the mutual exchange of intellectual resources and expertise between the university and its broader external communities, including government agencies, businesses and industry, non-profit organizations, community groups, schools, and other educational institutions.

Dee Masiello

CHAIR

Boston College
dmasiello@dean.edu

Ursula Bechert

CHAIR ELECT

University of Pennsylvania
bechertu@sas.upenn.edu

Janice Sitzes

PAST CHAIR

North Carolina State University
janice_sitzes@ncsu.edu

R Dean Claud

VICE CHAIR, ANNUAL CONFERENCE AND SPECIAL EVENTS

Old Dominion University
rclaud@odu.edu

Charlene Ashton

VICE CHAIR, AWARDS AND RECOGNITION

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
ceashton@cpp.edu

Long Huynh

VICE CHAIR, DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION

Kansas State University
lhuynh@ksu.edu

Gail Ruhland

VICE CHAIR, NON-CREDIT

St. Cloud State University
GMRuhland@stcloudstate.edu

Laurel Hogue

VICE CHAIR, PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

University of Central Missouri
lhogue@ucmo.edu

George Calderaro

VICE CHAIR, AT-LARGE

Columbia University
gc2212@columbia.edu

George Calderaro

VICE CHAIR, AT-LARGE

California State University, Sacramento
samantha.stone@csus.edu

2018-2019

International

Local, state and national governments and industries are actively seeking international partners to expand markets and workforces that help address components of the global economic crisis. Educational institutions are embracing the need for global competencies, are incorporating international concepts into the curriculum, are continuing to develop satellite campuses and are actively pursuing international students, international faculty, study abroad and exchange opportunities, philanthropy, etc. And these changes are happening in countries all over the globe—not just in the United States. For these reasons, the International Network is an indispensable resource, leading the profession—and the Association—toward a prominent role in navigating the globalization of the academy.
 
The International Network provides UPCEA membership with insights, general direction, strategy, trends, and models for integrating international education into their work. It creates forums for the exchange of ideas, programs, services, and initiatives that expand member knowledge regarding global and international education.

John Caron

CHAIR

Johns Hopkins University
johncaron@jhu.edu

Brian Cook

CHAIR ELECT

California State University, East Bay
brian.cook@csueastbay.edu

Robert Wagner

PAST CHAIR

Utah State University
robert.wagner@usu.edu

Marissa Lombardi

VICE CHAIR, ANNUAL CONFERENCE AND SPECIAL EVENTS

Northeastern University
m.lombardi@northeastern.edu

Brenda McGrath

VICE CHAIR, AWARDS AND RECOGNITION

Lily Fu

VICE CHAIR, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
lilyfu@mit.edu

Kim McNutt

VICE CHAIR, NON-CREDIT

California State University, Dominguez Hills
kmcnutt@csudh.edu

Heidi Zhang

VICE CHAIR, PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

California State University, Long Beach
heidi.zhang@csulb.edu

Mike Schroder

VICE CHAIR, AT-LARGE

California State University, San Marcos
mschrode@csusm.edu

Terry Borg

VICE CHAIR, AT-LARGE

Northern Illinois University
tborg@niu.edu

2018-2019

Marketing, Enrollment, & Student Services

The Marketing, Enrollment and Student Services Network (MESS) engages members in actively building the competencies, skills, and confidence needed by today’s professionals to successfully attract and retain students in an ever-changing and increasingly competitive adult, continuing, professional, and online education marketplace. The Network focuses both on powerful fundamentals and on new and emerging marketing, enrollment, and services practices that come from both inside and outside higher education. As a result, MESS members are recognized and valued for the critical role they play in their institutions’ success.

The MESS Network fosters a community where professionals at all levels can build their expertise and their leadership skills by learning from industry experts and from each other, and where the success of its members is celebrated and shared broadly. Members will also find cutting edge programming in the highly successful Annual Marketing and Enrollment Management Seminar.

Tomea Knight

CHAIR

University of Pennsylvania
knightt@sas.upenn.edu

Victoria O'Malley

CHAIR ELECT

University of Denver
victoria.omalley@du.edu

Chris Nicholson

PAST CHAIR

University of Denver
chris.nicholson@du.edu

Paola Curcio-Kleinm

VICE CHAIR, ANNUAL CONFERENCE AND SPECIAL EVENTS

Tanya Vincent

VICE CHAIR, AWARDS AND RECOGNITION

Western Kentucky University
tanya.vincent@wku.edu

VACANT

VICE CHAIR, DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION

VACANT

VICE CHAIR, NON-CREDIT

Chelsea Caile

VICE CHAIR, PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

Southeast Missouri State University
ccaile@semo.edu

VACANT

VICE CHAIR, AT-LARGE

2018-2019

Online Administration

The Online Administration Network (OA) serves as a bridge between the administrative functions of online learning (marketing, online student services, program development, etc.) and the design of online learning. Participation in the OA Network provides access to authentic institutional online operational models, best practice trends in online management, professional analysis of learning design applications, and the formulation of best practices in the use of technology and learning design in online instruction.

OA members have access to a community of UPCEA members with similar interests and needs to help you negotiate current issues and opportunities. Members can also participate in unique professional development forums such as the Summit for Online Leadership. 

Sarah Dysart

CHAIR

Loyola University Chicago
sdysart@luc.edu

Asim Ali

CHAIR ELECT

Auburn University
asim@auburn.edu

Kim Siegenthaler

CHAIR

University of Missouri
siegenthalerk@missouri.edu

Michele Gribbins

VICE CHAIR, ANNUAL CONFERENCE AND SPECIAL EVENTS

University of Illinois, Springfield
mgribbin@uis.edu

Tanja Bibbs

VICE CHAIR, AWARDS & RECOGNITION

Western Kentucky University
bibbstn@wku.edu

Gary Chinn

VICE CHAIR, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION

Penn State University
gmc14@psu.edu

Jessica Gordon

VICE CHAIR, NON-CREDIT

University of Missouri
gordonjes@missouri.edu

Mel Edwards

VICE CHAIR, AT-LARGE

Purdue University 
meledwards@purdue.edu

2018-2019

Program Planning and Implementation

The Program Planning & Implementation Network (PPI) provides a forum for members to share and explore program management best practices and innovations in credit and non-credit programming. The Network supports the professional development needs of program coordinators, managers, and directors and the similar competencies necessary to be successful professional, continuing, and online leaders. The network is a community that strives to identify, develop, and sustain innovative programs. This is done through the sharing of information obtained through environmental scanning, benchmarking, and institutional research to inform creative approaches to program design and management. Specifically, the network shares best practices and helps members develop competencies in creative program planning, implementation and assessment, and meeting student/participant needs with limited resources.

Gregory Milton

CHAIR

Sonoma State University
miltong@sonoma.edu

VACANT

CHAIR ELECT

Jarrod Murray

PAST CHAIR

Valdosta State University
jkmurray@valdosta.edu

Khusro Kidwai

VICE CHAIR, ANNUAL CONFERENCE AND SPECIAL EVENTS

University of Maine
khusro.kidwai@maine.edu

Rebecca Cook

VICE CHAIR, AWARDS & RECOGNITION

University of Arizona
rtc@email.arizona.edu

Willie Bragg

VICE CHAIR, DIVERSITY & INCLUSION

Morgan State University
willie.bragg@morgan.edu

VACANT

VICE CHAIR, NON-CREDIT

Ing Phansavath

VICE CHAIR, PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

University of California, Los Angeles
iphansav@unex.ucla.edu

VACANT

VICE CHAIR, PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT
23109270222_913907ae48_k

Get Involved with UPCEA

Professional development isn't just about attending sessions. Get involved with UPCEA to meet members from other institutions, share the great work your institution is doing, and hone your own skills. From submitting a session proposal for a conference or an article for a publication to serving as a volunteer on a conference planning committee, there are as many ways to engage with us!

22705011037_217e9a2505_k

Awards of Excellence

Since 1953, UPCEA has recognized its members' outstanding contributions to the Association and the field, as well as their achievements in innovative programming, marketing and promotion, community development and services, research and publications, and many other areas.