Government Affairs

Education Department Announces Substantial Rule-Making Session

July 30, 2018

The Department of Education has announced a negotiated rulemaking committee to prepare regulations for a wide-range of issues pertinent to UPCEA member institutions. The extremely wide range of topics to be discussed include, but is not limited to: State authorization Regular and substantive interaction Definition of “credit hour” Discussion of EQUIP-style programmatic delivery by third-party…

ED Announces Plan to End Gainful Employment Rule

July 27, 2018

The Department of Education through Secretary Betsy DeVos plans to end the regulations which required for-profit and vocational schools to provide “gainful employment” to the students that move through their programs. The regulation was one of the defining for-profit student consumer safeguards put into place by the Obama administration. The rules would cut off federal…

Department of Education Seeks Input on State Authorization Rule Delay

May 25, 2018

As we notified you of a few weeks ago, the Department of Education is seeking to delay the implementation of regulations relating to State authorization that are to go into effect June 1 of this year. The main reasons for the delay were concerns around disclosure issues and student residence for distance education programs and…

Letter to Congressman Denham for Permanent DACA Fix Bill

May 24, 2018

UPCEA joined with ACE and 32 other organizations to thank Rep. Jeff Denham (R-CA) and other representatives who supported H.Res. 774, thanking them for taking action to provide a permanent solution for Deferred Action on Childhood Arrivals (DACA) recipients. The resolution uses a House rule known as “Queen of the Hill” to hold votes on four different…

UPCEA is a proud founding member of the National Adult Learner Coalition.


Click here to read more.

UPCEA Policy Commitee

Dawn Mattoon, Western Michigan University, Co-Chair
Dick Senese, Capella University, Co-Chair

Jennifer Blum, Laureate Education
Allison Friederichs, University of Denver
Reed Scull, University of Wyoming

Jim Shaeffer, Old Dominion University
Scott Weimer, Virginia Tech