Regional Awards

Each of the five regions host their individual awards programs, recognizing the achievements of outstanding institutions and individuals in their own region.

Central Region Awards

2016 Central Region Award Recipients

Innovative Program (Credit)

Master of Public Health with an emphasis in Health Promotion and Policy

University of Missouri

Innovative Program (Non-Credit)

University Learning Store

David Schejbal, Dean
University of Wisconsin-Extension Division of Continuing Education, Outreach and E-Learning

Mature Program (Credit)

BSN@Home Collaborative Online Program

University of Wisconsin

Mature Program (Non-Credit)

Integrated Pest Management (IPM) programs

Gary Bennett, Ph.D
Purdue University

Excellence in Teaching

Ellen Gundlach

Purdue University

John L. Christopher Outstanding Leadership Award

Terrie R. Nagel

University of Missouri
Mizzou Online

Research and Publication Award

Amy Pilcher

Iowa State University

Outstanding Continuing Education Student Award (Credit)

Amy Pilcher

Iowa State University

Continuing Education Support Specialist Award – Staff in a Support Role

Maleah Lundeen

Kansas State University Global Campus

Engagement Award

Women Managing the Farm Conference

Janet Barrows
Gregg Hadley
Debbie Hagenmaier
Kansas State University Global Campus

Excellence in Advising

Sandra Sites

University of Missouri-Columbia

Mid-Atlantic Region Awards

2016 Mid-Atlantic Region Award Recipients

Excellence in Teaching Award

Christine Royce

Shippensburg University

Outstanding Continuing Education Student

Timothy Andrew Bryant

University College of Syracuse University

Dorothy Durkin Award: Marketing & Promotions, Broadcast or Print

Shippensburg University Integrated Winter Term 2015-16

Kristin Lovett
Shippensburg University

Engagement Award

SPD/FREE Human Services Programs Collaboration

School of Professional Development, Stony Brook University

Christopher Long, Family Residences and Essential Enterprises
Robert Budd, Family Residences and Essential Enterprises
Kathleen Brown, Family Residences and Essential Enterprises

Faculty & Staff Development

Teaching Adult Learners Online

Dr. Marie Bountrogianni
The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education
Ryerson University

Marketing & Promotions: Electronic

Test Driving Online Education at Drexel University

Susan C. Aldridge, Ph.D.
Kimberly David-Chung,
Drexel University

Outstanding Program Award (Credit)

Master of Science in Data Analytics Outstanding Program Award

Dr. Elena Gortcheva
The Graduate School University of Maryland University College

Partnership [Institutional and/or Business]

Master of Science in Data Analytics Partnership Award

Partnership with IBM
Dr. Elena Gortcheva, The Graduate School, University of Maryland University College
Global Leader Academic Programs for IBM Data & Analytics Big Data University and Emerging Technologies, IBM Analytics Platform Services

New England

2016 New England Region Award Recipients

Innovative and Creative Programming Award – Noncredit Program

Berklee Online and Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) collaboration

Outstanding Continuing Education Faculty Award

Dr. Tom Rudolph

Berklee Online

Outstanding Continuing Education Student Award

Alexandra Deckoff-Jones

University of Massachusetts - Lowell

Engagement Award


Collaboration between Harvard University Division of Continuing Education and Texas Graduate Center


2016 South Region Award Recipients

Continuing Education Faculty Award

Allen Cannedy

North Carolina State University

Continuing Education Student Award (Non-credit)

Jermile Richards

Kennesaw State University

Emerging Continuing Education Leader Award

Nicole de Vries

Georgia Institute of Technology

Professional Continuing Educator Award

John R. Edwards

Kennesaw State University

Program of Excellence (Credit)

Online Master of Science Computer Science

Georgia Tech College of Computing, in collaboration with Georgia Tech Professional Education, Udacity, and AT&T

Program of Excellence (Non-credit)

Summer Youth Program

Southern Methodist University

Programs for Special Populations Award

ICT100x (Information and Communication Technology Accessibility) MOOC

AMAC Accessibility Solutions and Research Center
Georgia Institute of Technology

Engagement Award

Incumbent Worker Training Program

Louisiana State University
Turner Industries Group, LLC
Louisiana Workforce Commission

Research and Scholarship Award

Jerry Daday

Western Kentucky University


2016 West Region Award Recipients

Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Award

Rodolfo “Mr. Rudy” Castillo

College of Continuing Education, Sacramento State

Outstanding Non-Credit Program Award

Agile Development Certificate

Continuum College
University of Washington

Excellence in Teaching Award

Courtney Stewart

School of Teacher Education and Leadership
Utah State University

Outstanding Credit Program

FlexU Intensive Course Program

Continuing Education & Community Engagement
University of Utah


Get Involved with UPCEA

Professional development isn't just about attending sessions. Get involved with UPCEA to meet members from other institutions, share the great work your institution is doing, and hone your own skills. From submitting a session proposal for a conference or an article for a publication to serving as a volunteer on a conference planning committee, there are as many ways to engage with us!


Awards of Excellence

Since 1953, UPCEA has recognized its members' outstanding contributions to the Association and the field, as well as their achievements in innovative programming, marketing and promotion, community development and services, research and publications, and many other areas.