13 Individuals and 5 Programs Receive Association’s Highest Honors

WASHINGTON, DC – UPCEA, the leader in professional, continuing, and online education, has announced the recipients of the 2016 Association Awards. The UPCEA Association Awards program includes recognition of both individual and institutional achievement across the UPCEA membership.

Since 1953, UPCEA has recognized its members’ outstanding contributions to the Association and the field, as well as their achievements in innovative programming, marketing and promotion, community development and services, research and publications, and many other areas.

Award recipients will be honored at the UPCEA 101st Annual Conference, on April 8 in San Diego, Calif.

The recipients of this year’s awards are as follows:

Julius M. Nolte Award for Extraordinary Leadership is given to an individual in recognition of unusual and extraordinary contributions to the cause of continuing education on the regional, national, and/or international level.
Recipient: Thomas F. Gibbons, Northwestern University

Adelle F. Robertson Continuing Professional Educator Award recognizes the scholarship, leadership and contributions to the profession of a person who has entered the field within the past five to ten years.
Recipient: Amy Johnson, Oakland University, Center for Human Animal Interventions

Phillip E. Frandson Award for Literature recognizes the author and publisher of an outstanding work of continuing higher education literature.
Recipient: Peter J. Stokes, Higher Education and Employability: New Models for Integrating Study and Work

Dorothy Durkin Award for Strategic Innovation in Marketing and Enrollment Management recognizes an individual for achievement in strategic planning, marketing innovation or enrollment management success.
Recipient: Kim Frisch, Regis University

Leadership in Diversity Award recognizes an individual or a program representing best practices in promoting the educational success of diverse students.
Recipient: Information Accessibility Design and Policy Certificate Program, College of Applied Health Sciences, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Excellence in Teaching Award is presented to individuals who have provided outstanding teaching, course development, mentoring of students, and service to continuing education.
Felicity Vabulas, Northwestern University
Aric Rindfleisch, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Outstanding Continuing Education Student: Credit Award recognizes outstanding student achievement in professional and continuing education.
Lori St. Pierre, Montana State University, Bozeman
Jacqueline Anne Wilson-Schau, Kansas State University

Outstanding Continuing Education Student: Noncredit Award recognizes outstanding student achievement in professional and continuing education.
Recipient: Natalia M. Higgins, Kennesaw State University

Outstanding Program: Credit Award recognizes outstanding professional and continuing education programs allowing students to earn academic credit.
Recipient: Conflict Resolution Certificate, Kansas State University

Outstanding Program: Noncredit Award recognizes outstanding professional and continuing education programs that do not offer credit.
Recipient: Social Media Marketing Strategy, University of Delaware

UPCEA International Leadership Award recognizes an individual for representing innovative leadership in facilitating international professional and continuing education.
Recipient: K. Cyrus Homayounpour, The George Washington University

UPCEA International Program of Excellence Award recognizes a program engaged in activities that promote the exchange of knowledge and ideas of global significance.
Recipient: Fulbright-Hays Group Project Abroad (GPA) program: Advanced Chinese Language Immersion, University of Massachusetts Boston

UPCEA Global Program Award for International Partners recognizes exemplary and/or innovative programming by a non-U.S. institution that creates international educational opportunities for students and/or faculty.
Recipient: Emerging Market Initiatives, School of Management, Universidad Externado de Colombia

UPCEA Award for Excellence in Advancing Student Success recognizes an individual or program for advancing the success of students in both credit and non-credit programs.
Recipient: execMBA, Trulaske College of Business, University of Missouri

UPCEA Award for Strategic Innovation in Online Education recognizes an institution of higher education that has set and met innovative goals focused on online education and been strategic in the planning, development, implementation and sustainability in the line with the institutional mission.
Western Kentucky University
Center for Online Learning, Research and Service, University of Illinois Springfield

UPCEA Engagement Award recognizes an outstanding mutually-beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources between a UPCEA member institution and one or more external constituents such as local communities, corporations, government organizations, or associations.
Recipients: Rice University, Glasscock School of Continuing Studies and AVID Center

# # #


UPCEA is the association for professional, continuing, and online education. Founded in 1915, UPCEA now serves most of the leading public and private colleges and universities in North America. With innovative conferences and specialty seminars, research and benchmarking information, professional networking opportunities and timely publications, we support our members’ service of contemporary learners and commitment to quality online education and student success. Based in Washington, D.C., UPCEA builds greater awareness of the vital link between adult learners and public policy issues. Visit www.upcea.edu.