Leaders in Professional, Continuing and Online Education

Government Affairs

UPCEA Co-Signs Letter to Senate Supporting Legislation on Dreamers

June 28, 2019

UPCEA, along with American Council on Education and 42 other higher education associations wrote Senate leadership to urge legislation as soon as possible to provide permanent protection for “Dreamers,” young, undocumented, high-achieving individuals who contribute to our college and university system. Senators Graham and Durbin reintroduced the bipartisan Dream Act of 2019 (S.874), which was…

Policy Matters | Public Comment on Regulations Due July 12

June 25, 2019

Major Updates The U.S. Department of Education has released Proposed Regulations for Public Comment.The regulations cover a wide range of topics including changes to accreditation, state authorization, student notifications, and other topics. If finalized before November, these changes would not go into effect until July 1, 2020. We encourage you to comment as an individual, from…

Coalition Supports FY2020 House Appropriations Bill

May 8, 2019

UPCEA joined with ACE and 35 other organizations yesterday to send a letter to the House Committee on Appropriations as they were approving spending bills for the Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education for fiscal year 2020. Today, the House Committee on Appropriations approved its bill, allocating $75.9 billion to the Department of Education…

Department of Education Negotiated Rulemaking Committee Reaches Consensus

April 3, 2019

As part of the Department of Education’s recent and wide-ranging negotiated rulemaking, negotiators reached consensus on all of the topics discussed during their sessions. With only three minutes remaining in the time allotted for negotiators to do their work, before the entire process would have been for naught, all negotiators agreed on changes to regulatory…

UPCEA is a proud founding member of advocacy groups such as the Today's Students Coalition as well as the National Adult Learner Coalition.

UPCEA Policy Committee

Mary Niemiec, University of Nebraska, Co-Chair
Dick Senese, Capella University, Co-Chair

Susan Aldridge, Drexel University
Allison Friederichs, University of Denver
Kristen Brown, University of Louisville
Ricky LaFosse, University of Michigan
Reed Scull, University of Wyoming