Month: April 2017

New Study Delves Into Unexplored Professional Development Benchmarking for Instructional Design and Technology Teams

WASHINGTON, D.C. – April 7, 2017 – A study released today by the UPCEA eDesign Collaborative maps the expertise and roles in instructional design teams throughout North America. The study, Instructional Design and Technology Teams: Work Experiences and Professional Development, establishes benchmarks for experience and salaries among members of instructional design team members, and also…

Read More

Phillip E. Frandson Award for Literature Recipients

2017 The Future of University Credentials: New Developments at the Intersection of Higher Education and Hiring, Sean R. Gallagher 2016 Higher Education and Employability: New Models for Integrating Study and Work, Peter J. Stokes 2015 Adult Learning: Linking Theory and Practice, Laura Bierema and Sharan Merriam 2014 Powerful Techniques for Teaching Adults, Stephen Brookfield 2013 College:…

Read More

Adelle F. Robertson Emerging Professional Continuing Educator Award Winners

2014 – Jessica Rafter, University of Virginia 2013 – Guy Felder, University of Houston 2012 – Lori Stania, The Pennsylvania State University 2011 – Jennifer Gigliotti-Labay, Center for College Readiness 2010 – No award recipient 2009 – Jean Marie Redeker, University of Kansas 2008 – Siva Kumari, Rice University 2007 – John F. Beyers, University…

Read More

Walton S. Bittner Service Citation Award Winners

2014 – Alice Warren, North Carolina State University 2013 – Pat Butler-Lofman, University of Connecticut 2012 – No award recipient 2011 – John “Jack” Azzaretto, University of West Florida; Wayne Ishikawa, Harvard University 2010 – Michael Shinagel, Harvard University; Donald W. Swoboda, Western Kentucky University 2009 – James Hromas, Oklahoma State University 2008 – Mary…

Read More

Julius M. Nolte Award Winners

2016 – Thomas Gibbons, Northwestern University 2015 – James Shaeffer, Old Dominion University 2014 – David Schejbal, University of Wisconsin-Extension 2013 – No award recipient 2012 – Roger Whitaker, The George Washington University 2011 – Sue C. Maes, Kansas State University 2010 – Gary W. Matkin, University of California – Irvine 2009 – Wendell L. Smith, University…

Read More


Get Involved with UPCEA

Professional development isn’t just about attending sessions. Get involved with UPCEA to meet members from other institutions, share the great work your institution is doing, and hone your own skills. From submitting a session proposal for a conference or an article for a publication to serving as a volunteer on a conference planning committee, there are as many ways to engage with us!


Awards of Excellence

Since 1953, UPCEA has recognized its members’ outstanding contributions to the Association and the field, as well as their achievements in innovative programming, marketing and promotion, community development and services, research and publications, and many other areas.